Eurofish Governing Council 2012

GC2012-groupThe Annual Session of the Governing Council of Eurofish took place on 26-27 January 2012 at the Eurofish office in Copenhagen.  The meeting was attended by 29 representatives from 18 European countries, of which the Member Countries represented were: Albania, Denmark, Estonia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Spain, and Turkey (Croatia was not present), while the Observer nations were Armenia, the Czech Republic, Finland, Georgia, Russia, Slovenia, and Ukraine. The FAO, the Baltic Sea RAC and the North Atlantic Seafood Forum were also present as Observers.

The meeting reviewed the organisationís activities undertaken over the past year, and decided on the work programme and the budget for 2012. It also marked the tenth Anniversary of Eurofish which is an important milestone in the development of the organisation. Jochen Nierentz and Victor Hjort, the former directors of the FAO EASTFISH project and Eurofish respectively were invited as honoured guests on the occasion.

The next session of the Governing Council will be held on 24-25 January 2013.